Six weeks later …

It has been six weeks since this blog first went up. For the first few weeks, I wondered if anyone connected to Flight 705 would find it. To help it become more “visible” in the land of Internet search hits, I contacted Ken Kaye of the Sun Sentinel newspaper. Ken had mentioned Flight 705 in several of his earlier postings in his “Storm Center” blog. He was kind enough to write a posting devoted to the Flight 705 story: a link to it is found in the “About” section of this blog.

In an effort to learn more about 705, I’ve done much thinking and digging and reaching out. Thanks to the Internet, new connections have been forged with people who know bits and pieces of the history, and have been gracious enough to share them. Chief among them has been Patrick McDonald, a Miami attorney whose family purchased land in the Everglades in the 1960s prior to it becoming a park. Patrick’s uncle was the lead investigator on the Flight 705 accident and while doing that work, purchased land nearby with Patrick’s father. Their cabin at “Iron Pot Hammock” in what is now Big Cypress National Preserve has been a treasured part of their family life ever since. Patrick’s wife, Lindsay, put together a phenomenal book about their cabin which they were kind enough to share with me.

Located about four miles from the Flight 705 accident site, Iron Pot Hammock is surrounded by beauty in many forms: wildlife, wildflowers, endless stretches of open sky. As I looked through page after page of remarkable images, I had this recurring feeling that something wasn’t adding up. Midway through the book it hit me: what I was seeing contradicted the dark, foreboding view of the Everglades that I’ve had in my head since childhood. Though I’ve traveled through much of the United States, Canada and Alaska, I’ve never been to Florida, yet carried a pretty vivid picture around of what it “looks” like, a mental image that I wasn’t even aware I was packing around. It was a pleasant change of scenery.

Yesterday evening after a long day in Seattle, I came home, settled in for the evening, and checked my email. There was the message I’d been hoping for since the blog began: someone directly affected by Flight 705’s story had found their way to the blog. [See “Comments” on this page.] I was stunned when I saw who this first comment referred to: the only other passenger on 705 from Seattle.  A technology unthinkable in 1963 has made new connections possible. Amazing.

Special thanks to Patrick and Lindsay McDonald: Here’s the link to Patrick’s story at Iron Pot Hammock: (Warning: there are some images of the 705 accident in the newscast at this site): http://www.local10.com/news/22416728/detail.html )

Special thanks to Emma for the use of her “healing path” photo, a recent project she did for her design program at Washington State University.

This entry was posted in Passengers on 705. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six weeks later …

  1. emma.l.fox says:

    That is wonderful news that you’ve been making connections through the blog, congratulations!

  2. T.L. Heil says:

    Thanks Em. And thanks for the use of your picture. I love it. [And you!]

Leave a Reply

